Skip to content

The Story – Chapter Fifteen

April 29, 2013

“The Fire,” the fairy, Prince? announced imperiously, “Is our greatest treasure.”

Um, right. So the fairies had been told by some old lady, I would arrive to help them find their greatest treasure. Exactly how was I supposed to do that? I wondered it aloud. “Exactly how am I supposed to do that?”

The fairy next to me shook his head. Yikes, I had completely forgotten he was there.

“Really?” he whispered. “That is what you ask the Prince?”

I thought it was a perfectly decent question given the circumstances.

The Prince continued, “You will select your team of five from this great hall and you will leave through that Golden Doorway. You will only return when you have retrieved The Fire.” He gestured toward a great, golden, shiny doorway that looked painted onto the wall and then gestured toward the end of the hall and the numerous shadowy creatures gathered there.

I gulped. He could have given me a few more details. I mean really, “Go get the Fire.” That is my mission?

“Will it be dangerous?” I whispered to the fairy next to me.

“Yup, you bet.”

“I can choose my team from any of those in this hall?” I looked up at the Prince and asked loudly to clarify, “Four more–anyone in this hall?”

“Yes,” the Prince confirmed.

“Great,” I pointed to the fairy next to me. “That’s you buddy, number one.”

“Oh crap,” he said.

 

Go to Chapter 16

 

© solothefirst. All Rights to the works and publications on this blog are owned and copyrighted by Solothefirst. The Owner of this site reserves all permissions for access and use of all documents on this site.

From → The Story

5 Comments
  1. Kira permalink

    HeHeHe…that fairy’s response made me laugh! This is great! 🙂

  2. Kira permalink

    I have awarded you with the Interesting Blogger Award! Please check out my post to receive the award http://wrestling-life.com/2013/05/01/awards-round-two/ This is a NO pressure nomination. You don’t have to do anything if you don’t want to. I just wanted you to know that I am pleased to have you as part of my blogging world!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. The Story – Chapter Fourteen | Rambles, writing and amusing musings

Leave a Reply

