Skip to content

The Story – Chapter 25

June 14, 2013

Inside was a stone.

It glowed a translucent yellow. No, it was more like a pale pastel yellow. I had a cardigan that color once but this was so much prettier, shining and sparkling in the sunlight. It was the size of a coin that had been squashed flat on one side.

I picked it up. It felt cold. As I held it in my hand it seemed to grow warmer.

There was a gold chain attached. I looked at it closely, I couldn’t see where the clasp connected with the stone at all. Weird. I couldn’t take my eyes of it.

“Pretty,” A whispered voice said into my ear. Herman stood right next to me.

“Whoa!” He was so close I startled and jumped away.

Herman’s green eye winked at me. “You should put it on.”

“Oh geeez, get a room will ya?” Wings flashed before my eyes as Peter whirled and stomped away in a huff.

Sheesh what was his problem? How embarrassing that he said that aloud! I felt hot and hoped my face was not all red and blotchy. “Stupid fairy.” I grumbled, turning away from the troll-hunter at my side.

I lifted the stone pendant and dropped the chain over my head. As soon as the stone rested against my chest there was a flash of light.

“Whoa!”

 

Go to Chapter 26

 

© solothefirst. All Rights to the works and publications on this blog are owned and copyrighted by Solothefirst. The Owner of this site reserves all permissions for access and use of all documents on this site.

From → The Story

Leave a Reply

