Skip to content

The Story – Chapter 37

September 10, 2013

I crept forward.

So Fred the spider had disappeared with the trussed up troll leaving me here crouching in the grass staring at the smooshed green grass the troll had been lying on. Something he left behind had caught my eye.

I dropped to my knees and leaned my face down as close to the object as possible. Ewww trolls leave their icky smell behind them. I gagged. Covering my nose with my hand, I reached out and picked the shiny thing up.

It was a little stone about the size of my little finger nail. It was illuminated from the inside like a little flame was inside. When I cupped it in my hand, it glowed and the skin around my palm was shiny.

Cool.

I tucked the little stone into my pocket. I’m not sure why I kept it. Something made me I guess or maybe I didn’t realize I had kept it, I don’t know… but it ended up proving very useful… I don’t want to tell you too much, we haven’t gotten to that part of the story yet.

“Hey kid.” I heard Herman call out. I turned my head and saw the hunter leaning against the tower wall.

I huffed to myself. Kid? Really? He was calling me kid?

I climbed to my feet. “So fighting’s over huh?”

 

Go to Chapter 38

 

© solothefirst. All Rights to the works and publications on this blog are owned and copyrighted by Solothefirst. The Owner of this site reserves all permissions for access and use of all documents on this site.

From → The Story

3 Comments
  1. You are so not fair!! How did it prove useful? I couldn’t help but have a fleeting thought of “my precious!” Pockets and treasures do that to me. This is wonderful!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. The Story – Chapter 36 | Rambles, writing and amusing musings

Leave a Reply

