Skip to content

The Story – Chapter 39

October 10, 2013

HI all… sorry it has been simply ages between posts… I am working on editing my novel and it is taking a bit!!

“That way,” ended up toward the forest.

In a smart move by Herman, we piled our gear onto Fred’s back. He lumbered along beside us with all of our backpacks and food swaying slowly from side to side. He reminded me of a giant elephant… only with eight legs.

Peter walked beside me, a little too close and it was starting to get on my nerves because he pressed his arm against mine with each step. Naturally, Herman was all the way over on the other side of Fred. I would have preferred it the other way around.

Sarah flew high overhead. Her black wings gleamed in the bright sunshine. She seemed happy, swooping and climbing and turning giant barrel rolls in the sky. She must love being outside, I wondered how she coped with living in those underground caverns.

Although I had no idea where we were going, I was aiming for a huge tree in the distance. And my little band of followers followed my lead. It was kinda scary to think. I could barely find my street back home and here I was leading an epic quest.

I turned left as Sarah flew off overhead. My pocket started to vibrate.

Wha? I reached in and felt for the buzz. It was the stone. In my confusion, I stepped to my right and glanced down at my pocket. The vibration stopped. Huh. I stepped left again. The stone started to dance in my palm. I turned right. It stopped.

Hmmmm.

“Stop!” I called to the gang. Herman and Peter stopped. Fred just kept lumbering forward and Sarah wheeled around to sort of hover above us. “We need to go that way,” I said, pointing to the left.

 

Go to Chapter 40

 

© solothefirst. All Rights to the works and publications on this blog are owned and copyrighted by Solothefirst. The Owner of this site reserves all permissions for access and use of all documents on this site.

Leave a Reply

