Skip to content

The Story – Chapter 58

March 18, 2014

I looked at their faces. “It’s just a stone–I found it at the tower. I thought it was just a stone.” I looked up at The Fire, he looked back. “Is it yours?”

“No, I have not seen it before.”

I looked at the stone in my palm, glowing brightly. He had managed to touch my arm again. “Do you want it?” I asked. The thought of giving it away caused an ache in my chest and I hoped he would say no.

“No.”

I sighed happily and he let go of my arm. I knew, he knew I hadn’t wanted to give it away.

I looked around. “It’s just a stone.” I said but they all looked sceptical.

Herman threw some water on the campfire. “We should get some sleep… it’s a long trip in the morning.”

The two dragons settled in close to the smoking campfire. I could hear Fred scuttling around in the trees above, which curled the hair on the back of my neck. Honest, I was trying to think of him as a friend but seriously, he gave me the creeps. I imagined all those eyes staring down at us and shivered. Peter settled down next to the log outside my tent. My tent? Oh yay, I get one to myself this time. I looked around… wait… Herman sat staring into the darkness. I guessed he was going to take first watch. I entered my tent and jumped.

The Fire was sitting on my bed.

“Ahem… My tent.” I said as snarkily as I could manage.

He smiled at me in the darkness. “I thought you could do with some…”

“Don’t even finish that sentence, buddy.” I snapped and pointed to the door. “Out!”

He brushed past me, a little too close for comfort. He chuckled as he left.

Before I went to sleep I stared down at the stone. It was dark and still, lying in the middle of my palm.

 

Go to Chapter 59

 

 

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME!

© solothefirst. All Rights to the works and publications on this blog are owned and copyrighted by Solothefirst. The Owner of this site reserves all permissions for access and use of all documents on this site.

From → The Story

6 Comments
  1. Kirsten permalink

    Was it your birthday the day you wrote this? If so, Happy Birthday!!! This story is fantastic. I love how your character are soooo alive.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. The Story – Chapter 57 | Rambles, writing and amusing musings

Leave a Reply

