Skip to content

The Story – Chapter 64

April 1, 2014

I rolled over and kept my eyes squeezed shut. I was warm and comfortable. I did not want to wake up. I could feel the spark above my right eye that said a headache was coming and I should really drag myself out of bed to swallow a migraine tablet but hey if it was early enough I could then roll back onto the pillow and let it take effect. I opened one eye to look up at the alarm clock.

Wait… no clock.

I opened both eyes.

No clock, no bed… I could see, barely. There was a dim light above my head that emanated from a crack in the stone. Crap… that’s right I’m in the tower. I racked my brain for the last thing I could remember but it was all a blur. I remembered being angry… steaming, but I couldn’t think of why. And stairs. I remembered walking down dirt or stone stairs. The back of my head ached with all this thinking. I touched the back of my head, OW!

Okay. I had fallen.

“Hi,” a voice came out of the darkness, this seemed remarkably familiar.

I climbed to my feet. I was standing on a giant soft mattress-like sponge.  Where had the voice come from? I peered into the dark. Was that water? I was surrounded on all sides by water and the voice came from the water’s edge.

I knelt down. “Um, Hello?” The voice sounded nice enough. Feminine, kind of low and soft. There was a splash near my hand.

“Hi.”

I couldn’t make out a lot in the darkness, but as I knelt next to the edge I could see a faint glow coming from beneath the water. There was another splash and something scaly touched my hand.

Argh!

I jumped back nearly falling off the other side of the small spongy stone. Okay, yup–that was a tail.

“Woops, sorry,” the voice giggled.

“No, I was just startled. I’m sorry, it’s just very dark in here.” I apologized. I felt my face heat but thankfully in the darkness the mermaid wouldn’t see my shame. I moved back to the water’s edge.

“I saw you fall. I wanted to make sure you were okay,” she said.

Now that my eyes were adjusting I could make out more of her appearance. She had long hair and was wearing a tank top in a darkish color. I was pretty relieved by that let me tell you. If she had just been wearing shells or a little bra top I would have felt really awkward. From what I could see–she was stacked. She seemed to be leaning or floating at the water’s edge.

I rubbed the back of my head. “A bit sore but nothing seems to be broken,” I said. I looked around but really couldn’t see a lot in the darkness. “Where are we?”

“My home,” she said with a sigh, “And my prison.”

 

Go to Chapter 65

 

© solothefirst. All Rights to the works and publications on this blog are owned and copyrighted by Solothefirst. The Owner of this site reserves all permissions for access and use of all documents on this site.

From → The Story

5 Comments
  1. Kirsten permalink

    Hmmm…you have me totally wondering what is going to happen next!! I can normally figure things out before I read it in the story, but not with yours!!

    • Well cool, that is a great comment… I try very hard to make it unpredictable but still make sense. I hope I am not rambling, sometimes even I wonder where it is going!

      • Kirsten permalink

        I don’t think you are rambling at all. I always look forward to the twists and turns of your plots!

      • Thanks! 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. The Story – Chapter 63 | Rambles, writing and amusing musings

Leave a Reply

