Skip to content

The Story – Chapter 66

April 3, 2014

I rolled my eyes. Sure, it lost effectiveness in the dark but at least I knew I had expressed my irritation with his comment even though he didn’t. The mermaid must have good eye sight. She giggled.

“Yes dear,” I called. “Can you perhaps come back after tea?”

“What?”

I sighed. “Never mind. Hey, I’m stuck down here. Oh and I found a new friend, her name is…” I looked over my shoulder and raised a brow.

“Maddie.”

“Maddie the mermaid.” I called up and then paused. I looked at Maddie, “Really?”

She giggled again. “I’m glad to have met you,” she said with a laugh in her voice. “You’re funny.”

Story of my life. Looking up I saw The Fire nod his head and the flame disappeared. I assumed he left to tell the others.

“I’ve read stories about mermaids.” I said in a soft voice. I didn’t want to upset her but if I was to get her out of here, I needed information. “Do you have legs when you’re dry or on land?”

“Yes, what stories?”

“Um, just ones that my mum read to me when I was little. Can you come up here with me and dry off a little? Do you even have clothes?”

“Be right back.” She replied and with a splash, disappeared.

I sat down on the damp, spongy ground and tapped my foot. Was this a good idea? I guessed even bad ideas hadn’t stopped me of late. This was a good as any of the others I had made. And yet–in the dark–the back of my neck crawled.

 

Go to Chapter 67

 

© solothefirst. All Rights to the works and publications on this blog are owned and copyrighted by Solothefirst. The Owner of this site reserves all permissions for access and use of all documents on this site.

From → The Story

3 Comments
  1. Kirsten permalink

    Oh boy, the Fire and a mermaid…hmm. This could get quite interesting! Can’t wait to see what happens next. I used to want to be a mermaid 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. The Story – Chapter 65 | Rambles, writing and amusing musings

Leave a Reply

