Skip to content

The Story – Chapter 69

April 15, 2014

Hi there – apologies but I needed to re-number some chapters after I realised I had doubled up! – Happy reading.

 

 

Peter returned twice, first to bring Maddie up and then Herman. It was interesting to watch the others when we emerged from the tower. Herman walked between me and Maddie but kept gesturing for Maddie to walk ahead of us following Peter. Sarah took flight the second we hit the grass. She flew above, flapping her giant wings gracefully. I watched her for a moment with a smile before I realized she was looking odd, her eyes were wide, the nostrils flared–she looked frightened.

As we drew closer to the camp site, the giant red dragon took off as well. Fred took one look a Maddie and scuttled into the tree line, which was like a mile away. Peter’s wings kept twitching. It was something I hadn’t seen him do before.

My eyes automatically fell on The Fire where he stood in the center of the camp site. He was staring at us as we approached. His eyes flicked over me. It made me feel like looking down to check that I didn’t have a button open. When I looked back up, he was staring at Maddie.

Maddie stopped walking. I nearly walked into her but Herman grabbed my arm to stop me before I touched her. Maddie stared at The Fire.

The Fire didn’t move.

I looked around, “Um, excuse me? What is going on here?” No one answered. No one even looked at me. Wow, really… nothing? I pulled away from Herman, stepped around Maddie and Peter and stomped toward my tent. As I drew close, The Fire turned and followed me. I stopped at the flap. “Where do you think you are going buddy?” I snapped. Over his shoulder I could see Maddie and Peter walk into the camp. Peter pointed Maddie toward his tent and then sat down outside of it. Almost like–like he was guarding the door.

Herman stood at the entrance of our circle of tents. He stared off into the distance watching the dragons fly high above. He hand rested near his sheathed knife.

The Fire touched my shoulder. “Where did you find her?”

I looked at him with squinted eyes. “She was trapped at the bottom of a well in the basement of the tower. She’s coming with us.”

“Why?”

“Why what, what are you asking?”

He leaned closer and whispered into my ear, “Do not trust what she tells you.”

“And I can trust you?” I countered.

He looked surprised, “Of course you can.” He stepped closer until all I could see was his wide shoulders.  I looked up, straight at his chin. I would have stepped back but I was standing so close to my tent I would have stumbled on the material and probably fallen on him.

“You don’t trust me?” he asked softly.

I opened my mouth to reply.

 

Go to Chapter 70

 

© solothefirst. All Rights to the works and publications on this blog are owned and copyrighted by Solothefirst. The Owner of this site reserves all permissions for access and use of all documents on this site.

From → The Story

6 Comments
  1. Kirsten permalink

    A titch jealous, are we?!? You pack so much tension and story into these short posts. I learn such a great deal about each character as you have them interact. Great story telling!

    • Thanks, that means heaps from a poet like you! It is so hard keeping it short but still move the story along, I promise I do have an end in sight. 🙂

      • Kirsten permalink

        Thank you 🙂 I hope the end doesn’t come too soon. I’m loving this story!

  2. LOLOL to jealousy re Hermann…lolol!! 🙂 🙂 love it!!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. The Story – Chapter 68 | Rambles, writing and amusing musings

Leave a Reply

