Skip to content

A Christmas Story

December 22, 2014

I looked over my desk and at the pieces of plastic scattered all over the top. I scrubbed at my face with my hands, I was sooooo tired. We’d been working non-stop for what felt like months. I wondered why we kept doing it. They weren’t grateful, they weren’t happy, they just wanted more and more and more. My inbox was overflowing with letters. They weren’t even polite letters anymore. Once upon a time they used to ask how I was and wished me a nice day at the end, now they just demanded, “I want,” it was so rude.

Okay I was tired.

And sad.

It used to be so magical.

With a loud huff of air the chair in front of my desk was filled with red. I looked up into the smiling red glowing face. His white beard looked particularly immaculate; he must have a party tonight.

“Hi.” I said.

“You look sad.”

I gestured to my table. “Just a lot of work, sir.” I rubbed at my eyes again.

“You need a break.” His voice was so melodic I just wanted to smile. It was like being wrapped in a big hug.

“I can’t sir. Too much work to do. It’s only a few days away.”

“I can’t have my favorite helper falling asleep. Take a break.” He stood and pulled me out of my chair.

“Of course sir.” I said quietly. After all You can’t argue with Him. It just wasn’t done.

He led me down to the garage and we admired the sleigh, it had been cleaned this morning and gleamed under the one overhead bulb.

“What’s up?” He said suddenly breaking the silence.

“How can you do it?” I finally burst out. I cringed. I hadn’t wanted to say anything  but now I just couldn’t stop myself. “They’re just so greedy now. And mean. They want everything! I can’t work this hard – none of us can.” I sighed and stomped to the wall where I slumped against the railing. “It’s just so pointless now. It used to be all about surprise, and love and hope… now?”

He chuckled softly. His laugh made me smile. It always did.

He held out a small envelope. “This is why.”

I opened the letter and read the contents softly. I started to cry.

He took the letter back when I was finished. I sniffed. “Yes sir.”

He patted me on the back. “While we continue to get these. It is always worth it.” He left me alone then to think.

The letter had been from a little boy named Peter. He asked the Boss to give his little brother Mikey a new heart for Christmas because his wasn’t working properly. I teared up again thinking about it. I knew the Boss would find a way. It was a lovely letter – and he didn’t even ask for anything for himself, just for his brother. I returned to my desk with renewed purpose and made sure I injected a little bit of extra love into the gifts I put together. I was going to make something special for Peter, something to make him smile again. Life wasn’t fair I thought, but sometimes you were reminded of the special parts and yes, in the end, it was worth it.

 

© solothefirst. All Rights to the works and publications on this blog are owned and copyrighted by Solothefirst. The Owner of this site reserves all permissions for access and use of all documents on this site.

From → Uncategorized

9 Comments
  1. This is absolutely beautiful! It made me tear up. It is a wonderful reminder of what this time of year is all about. Thank you for writing this. May I re-blog it?

  2. Reblogged this on The Creative Junkie and commented:
    This story touched my heart. What a great reminder about this Season.

  3. Aww this is a lovely story you really know how to tug at your readers heartstrings! Amazing job 🙂

Leave a Reply

