Skip to content

The Story – Chapter 121

January 5, 2015

I was so close to screaming I could actually feel it well up in my throat. I froze. I waited.

…And waited…

…And waited…

Blacky scuttled forward. My scream caught in my throat. In seconds Blacky disappeared into the darkness. I had only a moment, I would have to move now. I raced to the closest wall and began to climb, keeping a weary eye at the darkness above my head in case Blacky came back. Do you know, I climbed that wall so quickly I didn’t even think about the danger of free-climbing a wall without any safety net? Actually I’m glad I didn’t think of it, I probably wouldn’t have been able to climb at all if I had remembered.

As soon as I got close to Herman I climbed onto his sticky webbing to try to and locate one of his knives. I could hear him grunt below me. Oh Woops – that wasn’t a knife. “Sorry.”

I was blushing – I know I was – I felt hot all over. Ahem, oh there it was. I located the knife at last and with a few tugs on the thread wrapped tightly around him I was able to pull the blade free and start hacking at one side of the web.

“Stop, Stop.” He said as I cut the sticky stuff away from his mouth.

“Hey, I am rescuing you, excuse me.” I grunted, still hacking at the thread.

“Stop, you’ll cut the wrong-“

The web holding Herman to the roof tore and we fell.

 

Go to Chapter 122

 

© solothefirst. All Rights to the works and publications on this blog are owned and copyrighted by Solothefirst. The Owner of this site reserves all permissions for access and use of all documents on this site.

From → The Story

6 Comments
  1. Ha!! Action, humor, and thriller…you’ve got it all in here! So does Herman save them before they hit bottom? What about the others? And where the heck is Blacky?!?

  2. LOLOL…not a knife! Priceless! 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. The Story – Chapter 120 | Rambles, writing and amusing musings

Leave a Reply

