Skip to content

The New Year’s Cat – Part 3

January 29, 2015

I did my best to ignore the cat.

He followed me around the house as I cleaned but didn’t speak again, for which I was intensely grateful. I downed another headache tablet and a coffee before slumping down at the kitchen table. The cat jumped up on the Formica top and sat. He stared at me with wide unblinking eyes.

“What?” I finally snapped as the caffeine was absorbed into my system. Inwardly I sighed as the pain in my head lifted a fraction.

“Oh, finally kid, ya talkin to me? Well aint I feeling all kinds of special.”

I rolled my eyes and held up one finger. “Let’s say for a moment that I believe you can talk. What do you want from me?”

“Doll, I just wanna give ya some advice. Free of charge like, you feel me?”

“And?” I said rubbing my nose. I was feeling a sneeze coming on.

The cat stood and walked up to me, rubbing his body against my hand. I pulled away and he followed my hand until I just left it still. He rubbed happily. “Sweetheart, you gotta do something with your life. You gotta get out – see the world, meet a guy, get some action.”

Wait, he was giving me a love talk. “Did my Grandma put you up to this?” I snapped. I stood up and backed to the wall. The cat sat on the table and stared.

“You know what; I have to get to work.” I left him staring at me and raced to my bedroom. What a day.

Closing the door behind me and trapping the cat inside, I felt suddenly lighter. Hopefully the coffee shop was quiet today – being the day after new year’s and I could pretend none of this had actually happened. I refused to look over my shoulder at the door. Yup, none of it had happened.

Not at all.

 

Go to Part 4
© solothefirst. All Rights to the works and publications on this blog are owned and copyrighted by Solothefirst. The Owner of this site reserves all permissions for access and use of all documents on this site.

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Hmmmm…where are you going next?!? You left me hanging – yet again!! Lol

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Something a little New Yearsy part 2 | Rambles, writing and amusing musings

Leave a Reply

