Skip to content

Hunting (Friday Fictioneers)

February 6, 2015

garden-maze

 

“Marco?”

“Marco?”

Still no answer.

“Marco?”

Green surrounded me on all sides. I brushed my hand against the wall of sawn off branches forcing the sharp prickles to dig into the sensitive skin on my palm. I held my breath but there was no discernible sound. Not even the trill off birdsong broke the silence that had settled over me. My heart thumped in my chest, growing louder by the second. With a gasp, I sucked in a deep breath as my lungs forced the issue.

“Marco.”

“Boo!”

Arghhhhhhhhhhh Christ! I spun, glaring at his grin. “You’re an ass.”

 

Word count: 99

Written for Friday Fictioneers

© solothefirst. All Rights to the works and publications on this blog are owned and copyrighted by Solothefirst. The Owner of this site reserves all permissions for access and use of all documents on this site.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. I wanted to yell back, “Polo!” We used to play that game in and out of the pool! You had great tension with the silence. It always spooks me out when it gets silent like that! I jumped when he scared the other person!! As always a great read.

Leave a Reply

