Skip to content

The New Year’s Cat – Part 9

May 11, 2015

It wasn‘t until we were in the car that I even thought to find out where we were going.

“So what is this help you need from me?”

“I need ya ta talk to someone for me.”

“Who? And what am I saying? The cat carrier was sitting in the passenger seat and the cat was lying curled up in the middle of it. My car is one of those little red zippy things, I can park it almost anywhere which was a real advantage in this city. Though I admit, I hate driving.

“There’s a dame in a bar.”

“Are you kidding me. At the red light I turned my horrified glance on the rotten four legged creature. “You need me to talk to a girl for you?”

“No, NO that is not what I’m askin’ gees kid what do you think of me huh?”

“Well, what am I supposed to think. You’re a cat.”

“No, see it’s her grandma I need ya ta ask about.”

“Her Grandma, exactly how do I start that conversation? Hi, I don’t know you and you don’t know me but how’s your grandmother doing?”

“Well, you need to figure it out.” He turned his back on me.

I glared and drove on when the light turned green.

The bar was a little hole in the wall place that might have been big a long time ago. A LONG time ago. Now it just looked ratty and rundown. Of course it was also the middle of the day and bars always look creepy in the light of day. It’s like they only come to light when it is dark enough to hide the stains. I thought about leaving the cat in the car, but he clearly knew what I was thinking. I dragged the carrier out of the car and climbed down the steps. The door, miraculously, was open.

I pushed my way through and headed up to the bar.

 

Go to Part 10

 

© solothefirst. All Rights to the works and publications on this blog are owned and copyrighted by Solothefirst. The Owner of this site reserves all permissions for access and use of all documents on this site.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

