Skip to content

Review: The Geek’s Guide to Dating by Eric Smith

August 13, 2015

The Geek’s Guide to Dating by Eric Smith

About the book

You keep your action figures in their original packaging. Your closets are full of officially licensed Star Wars merchandise. You’re hooked on Elder Scrolls and Metal Gear but now you’ve discovered an even bigger obsession: the new girl who just moved in down the hall.

What’s a geek to do? Take some tips from The Geek’s Guide to Dating. This hilarious primer is jam-packed with cheat codes, walkthroughs, and power-ups for navigating the perils and pitfalls of your love life with ease. Geeks of all ages will find answers to the ultimate questions of life, the universe, and everything romantic, from First Contact to The Fellowship of the Ring and beyond. Full of whimsical 8-bit illustrations, The Geek’s Guide to Dating will teach fanboys everywhere to love long and prosper.

 

My review

The Geeks Guide to Dating is exactly what you would think, a how-to guide for geeks. I wish I had found this book before I met my boyfriend, it might have helped me to understand how my inner geek would relate to his inner geek – then again, as we are both geeks I’m going to get him to read it anyway. The best part about Eric Smith’s how-to guide is that it is written by a geek for a geek and contains all sorts of hints, tips and advise for the dating (or wants to be dating) geek. Clearly written by someone who understands every level of geekdom there is, this book provides a great breakdown on the various levels of geek, from what each type of geek brings to the table in a both positive and negative sense and how to work around the potential opposite powers of each geek in the relationship. I think the most pleasure I got out of this book was the feeling of not being alone – and being able to quote Captain America in a book review and say “I understood that reference!”

Yes I am a geek and proud of it and Eric’s guide provides excellent advise from the moment a geek begins to think of dating right through to the first date/second date/possible future marriage/breakup. With tips from how to dress, what questions to ask, hygiene (I laughed myself silly here), when to initial contact and more importantly when to hold off on contact because the “player two” you have picked may be freaking out.

I almost think this book could be used not just for dating but as a general how-to guide to love your inner geek, or how to love YOUR geek, or even how to love and accept the geek in your family – in fact – Eric, I think you need to get on that!

I will be recommending this book to geek friends and non-geek friends – and yes, I will be making (asking) the boyfriend to read it too)

From → Reviews

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

