Skip to content

No turning back (Friday Fictioneers)

January 8, 2016

untitled

It was time. I looked over the empty hangar and held back my sigh. Even here, alone, I couldn’t expose any weakness. To who? The rats? Why would they care?

The rumble and whine of the propellers could be felt through the floor. My sensitive hearing screamed sending stabbing pains into my head as the pitch rose. I turned toward the plane. There was nothing to look back on. Only ahead. Straightening my shoulders I made my way out onto the tarmac.

“Ready to go, Miss?”

“Yes.”

I was ready. A new life was calling. No turning back.

 

 

This is a Friday Fictioneers prompt

Word count: 98

© solothefirst. All Rights to the works and publications on this blog are owned and copyrighted by Solothefirst. The Owner of this site reserves all permissions for access and use of all documents on this site.

From → Prompt

12 Comments
  1. Head up. Chin up. Shoulders back.
    Never let them see you sweat….
    Randy

  2. I like the hope and strength in this piece.

  3. Right attitude – always difficult, but it will be better…

  4. No looking back seems just right in this situation. Great writing.

  5. She’s taken a bold step. Good for her. Nice one, Solo!

  6. Dear Solo,

    Well done. Like and airplane, attitude determines altitude.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    PS…when it comes to airplanes it’s “hangar” with an ‘a’

Leave a Reply

