Skip to content

The grass is always greener… (Friday Fictioneers)

February 12, 2016

trg1

 

I looked up. I was never going to reach her greatness. I felt the cool air and the darkness that was her shadow all around me.

Forever in her shadow.

How could I grow to be magnificent if I could never feel the sun on my face?

“What is wrong my friend,” she asked peering down at me.

All I could see were bright and glorious petals. I could not answer.

“I envy you,” she said.

I was shocked. “Why?”

“Because you are not seen,” she said. “I cannot escape judgement. I wish I were you. You can be anything.”

 

This is a Friday Fictioneers prompt

Word count: 100

 

© solothefirst. All Rights to the works and publications on this blog are owned and copyrighted by Solothefirst. The Owner of this site reserves all permissions for access and use of all documents on this site.

From → Prompt

31 Comments
  1. Nice story. They say if we are asked exchange our problems , most of us would take our own and forget envy.

    • Thank you, yes because it could be worse right? It’s always interesting to me that someone would be jealous or envious of a life, you don’t really know what is in someone’s life.

  2. Well done, envy is universal… someone always wants what someone else has, fame or anonymity

  3. Well put! it’s all the perspective — someone else’s life looks very different to you than to them.

    • Exactly… But there is always someone envious of us. It’s all in the eye of the beholder isn’t it? Thank you for your comment.

  4. I think there’s a lot of truth to the “grass is always greener” saying. I guess everyone has a unique set of problems and some maybe aren’t so obvious. Great story and take on the prompt, Laurie. I like where you took this.

  5. Very true, the grass always looks greener elsewhere.

  6. I like this story about the flowers comparing themselves to each other. 🙂

  7. Heaven forbid we be happy with what we have… this is so typical; what we envy in another is so often loathed by that same person…

  8. strong use of personification here, and irony, so well done. As humans we do tend to fall in that trap of the grass is always greener. I find myself having those thoughts at times, even when I know I can’t judge without knowing the whole truth. I just shake my head and laugh it off, but some people go to drastic measures to try to attain an ideal.

    • So true. I try not to do it, it happens tho and i remind myself that it might be worse not better. I think we should be more happy with who we are as people and not wish for someone else’s life…

  9. I really like where you took this, it’s like a fable. All people have their own problems, no matter how carefree they appear.

  10. A very nice take on the prompt, I like the way you interpreted it. It’s interesting how we can often be envious of others, even if they are envious of us. Nicely done

  11. Very nice. I like the personification of the flowers, and I’m intrigued by the idea that the showy one would like to be less on display. It’s true. If everyone can see you, they see your failures as well as your successes.

  12. It’s all a matter of perspective.

  13. Dear Laurie,

    It’s hard not to envy the other person and loose sight of what we have, isn’t it? Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Thank you Rochelle, you are very right… What we have might be so much better. I think we only see the surface of what other people have… Might not be what it seems to be.

  14. Wonderful story! Love the twist at the end… you just never know how others feel until they tell you 🙂

Leave a Reply

