Skip to content

Time Vortex (Friday Fictioneers)

February 19, 2016

untitled

The time device began to spin.

I eyed my companion. She looked too excited. I wanted to roll my eyes but knew I had to maintain my professionalism. I gestured for her to hunch over. As the rotations grew faster I felt my heart race. After thirty trips I was an old hand at this but the moment the portal opened still brought joy and fear to my soul.

“Ready to go?” I asked.

Her eyes sparkled as the portal exploded open. “Hold your breath.”

Ducking my head, I raced into the spinning black vortex. Here we go…

 

This is a Friday Fictioneers Prompt

word count: 98

© solothefirst. All Rights to the works and publications on this blog are owned and copyrighted by Solothefirst. The Owner of this site reserves all permissions for access and use of all documents on this site.

From → Prompt

28 Comments
  1. What’s the idea here?

    • Time travel… Adventure, excitement 😃

      • I like that, is this a Flash fiction prompt?

      • Thank you Simon! Yes it is. Friday Fictioneers is a flash fiction prompt on Fridays hosted by the marvellous Rochelle. There is a link to her page in my post. You should have a look. Everyone is sooo talented!

      • Ill have a look, but if they’re sooo talented I should probably look from afar and be impressed 😉

      • Hahahahaha oh yes, be careful…. They might slobber if you praise too much! Hahahahaha but it’s a fun group! If inclined… You should have a go too 😃

  2. A mix of fear and excitement. That would be exhilarating. I think your third sentence needs a different form there. Excitement, maybe? Fun story, Laurie.

  3. This was great! Could you imagine becoming blasé about time travel?
    I think you wanted to write “far’ excited and not ” for”..

  4. Dear Laurie

    You set the tone well. I could feel the excitement. I’d love to know where they went from there. Nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  5. Nice imagination. He may have been a roller-coaste operator in prior life 🙂

  6. Question, what was waiting on the other side = hell again, said the delivery driver.

  7. And then? You can’t stop there… 😀 This is great, I want to go with them, too.

  8. The possibilities are endless for what happens next!!

  9. Ooh time travel 👏👏 great post

  10. What a place to leave them! So exciting. Well told.

  11. Love time-travel stories… awesome and written so well!

Leave a Reply

