Skip to content

Missing Time

March 4, 2016

This is a little prompt from my great twitter pal Lauren. Thanks Lauren

 

Missing Time

It was a while before I missed it.

But when I did… I couldn’t not think about it. Where had I left it? Where could it have gone?

I rubbed my fingers over my bare wrist. The Time Watch was gone.

Yes, I know what you’re thinking, isn’t Time Watch redundant? A watch tells time doesn’t it, why describe it as both. Well you see, this is a very different watch. A Time Watch controls time you see.

Very unique. I have the only one made which is why I felt it’s lose so acutely.

How would I get home?

Around me time seemed to slow down. Everyone on the train seemed so very oblivious to my horror. I needed to get back, to find it, to have it wrapped safely around my wrist.

The day dragged. Time itself slowed until I could feel its steps it in my very heart beat. Thump thump, thump thump.

At last

At long last I arrived home and there it was, sitting on the bench – forgotten and alone.

When it touched my skin I once again felt whole. Thank goodness.

 

… That’s when I noticed…

 

The watch had stopped. Time was frozen at 6am.

Oh no…

 

 

© solothefirst. All Rights to the works and publications on this blog are owned and copyrighted by Solothefirst. The Owner of this site reserves all permissions for access and use of all documents on this site.

From → Prompt

6 Comments
  1. Now that was a twist…

  2. A beautiful read

Leave a Reply

