Skip to content

The call (Friday Fictioneers)

March 4, 2016

copyight-sean-fallon

 

It was right there, I’m sure of it.

Damn it! I know I put it in here for safe keeping.

Who would check in the jar right? It looks like a pile of dead batteries. Nothing suspicious there, right?

Damn it. Tipping out the jar sent batteries everywhere… but no thumb drive.

I pulled at my hair and spun around. Where… where… There on the self…

Another jar.

Oh thank god. And there it was—the thumb drive.

I fell back. Safe, it’s safe, all is fine.

… Those photos were going to make me rich! Now to make the call.

 

 

This is a Friday Fictioneers prompt – read all about it and join!

 

© solothefirst. All Rights to the works and publications on this blog are owned and copyrighted by Solothefirst. The Owner of this site reserves all permissions for access and use of all documents on this site.

From → Prompt

20 Comments
  1. I can relate to this. Putting things ‘in a safe place’ – a recipe for disaster. And your story makes me think once again about how we trust our electronic gadgets to keep things safe. I hope the wealth comes rolling in as your narrator expects. Great story.

    • Thank you Margaret! I can’t tell you how many times I’ve put something in a “safe” place! 😱 one day I’ll find them.

  2. Ah. I wonder what those photos were, and why she was hiding them, and from whom!
    Very nicely done!

  3. That’s true about the safe place or the hidden spot. As soon as you call it that, it seems to slip your mind. I hope she gets her riches quick before she loses it. Great story, Laurie. I like the bit of mystery, too.

  4. I’ve done exactly that. Looked in the wrong container!

  5. O dear what’s in that thumb drive? Don’t make that call, keep writing instead.

  6. Nice end beat on this. Well done.

  7. I never heard it called a thumb drive before. I love the differences in our terminology. And yes, that elusive safe place …. 😦

  8. Dear Laurie,

    I could feel the panic. I have all my writing backed up on thumb drives. If I only had one I couldn’t find I’d be beside myself. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Thank you yes! What freaks me out is when you find it but the data has become corrupted! Devastating

  9. Hiding things in plain sight – very clever. And what were the pictures of? Leaves one wondering….

  10. Hm, there’s a bit of blackmail brewing, I think. I’m known to run around the apartment and look for my glasses because I put them in a safe place before I take a shower… Great story.

    • I think you are very right… Oh and I do that with my glasses too! And the TV remote for some reason!

Leave a Reply

