Skip to content

Something Pretty (Friday Fictioneers)

March 25, 2016

ted-t

 

Ganna always said, “You can make anything pretty if you try hard enough.” I always answered “If it’s functional it doesn’t need to be pretty.”

Ganna and I fought a lot.

But I still miss her. She was all I knew for so long.

This is a tribute to her. I finally had a way off the island, off the planet. I had a ship and a pilot. I finally had hope.

I’d come back to leave this for her.

“We gotta go!” came the pilot’s voice behind me. “What the hell is that?”

“Something pretty in a shithole.”

 

word count: 99

This is a Friday Fictioneers prompt

 

© solothefirst. All Rights to the works and publications on this blog are owned and copyrighted by Solothefirst. The Owner of this site reserves all permissions for access and use of all documents on this site.

From → Prompt

16 Comments
  1. Dear Laurie,

    You had me laughing out loud at the end. Something like bloom where you’re planted only better. 😉

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Oh good! That was my plan. 😃😆 great prompt this week! Lots of ways to read it, something pretty indeed

  2. I really like this for several reasons. Simple sentences like “Ganna and I fought a lot” which tells so much, the lines that made me laugh like “What the hell is that?” and the last line that left me wondering. Thanks

    • Thank you Alicia. I really enjoyed this prompt. Yes there were several meanings in this one. I’m glad you enjoyed it. 🤔😃

  3. I liked this too!

  4. ha ha. Great last line. Nicely done.

  5. Haha. I hope Ganna approves. Hilarious, Laurie. Loved the last line. 🙂

  6. Great story! The last line is an awesome metaphor.

  7. There’s so much here in so few words. At first I was interested in the protagonists relation with her ganna, thinking that would be me if I had a ganna: “if it’s functional it doesn’t need to be pretty.” Then I was intrigued that she was getting off the planet. Than that last line- both functional and beautiful! 🙂

  8. I can’t really add much. Loved it, interesting progression with a great last line. 🙂

Leave a Reply

