Skip to content

The idea (Friday Fictioneers)

April 29, 2016

untitled

This was getting ridiculous! Okay, so it worked in the rainy season, but in summer when the water levels dropped getting up to the roof was a pain in the rear. My ladder – have you seen it? My ladder is enormous. And heavy. Every second day I stomp in here with my basket of wet things, drag the bloody ladder to the middle of the room, climb it WITH the basket (not dangerous or anything) and hang everything up. The next day, reverse the process.

My son has a plan. He has rope and an idea. I can’t wait.

 

This is a Friday Fictioneers prompt

Word count: 99

 

© solothefirst. All Rights to the works and publications on this blog are owned and copyrighted by Solothefirst. The Owner of this site reserves all permissions for access and use of all documents on this site.

From → Prompt

26 Comments
  1. Dear Laurie,

    No matter how you slice it, laundry is a drag. I’d be a mess if that was the only way to dry mine. This poor lady needs a dryer. 😉 Nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  2. Hahaha! A rope sure would come in handy whether to hang the clothes or oneself for investing in a laundry service in the first place.
    Nice, Laurie. Five out of five detergent balls. 😀

  3. I don’t know why but this post had me in stitches. I had to comment and say to let you know how well done it is.

  4. How about use the rope to rustle up a dryer? That would be the best idea. Cute story!

  5. Mike permalink

    A interesting stream of thought, I hope her son comes good.

  6. Big smile for this one and 5 boxes of the famous old Duz detergent with the golden wheat dishes packed inside. Your poor heroine needs something to lift her spirits

    • Well thank you! She will need that for sure, she’s having a rough time with it, and that ladder is pretty old too! Bad timber 😬

  7. Regardless of the fun with the ladder, I’m intrigued by the fact that it is easier to get to the roof in the rainy season. How? With a boat? They must be flooded often.

  8. This reminds me of when my dryer broke. It’s actually happened a few times. All the hanging and washing and hanging. It was never ending. This scenario would be dangerous! I think I’d just wear dirty clothes 🙂 I see the comment about the flooding. Ah!! Great story.

    • Ha ha ha thanks Amy, yes I’ve gone through the pain of a broken washing machine and dryer. This woman’s got it tough for sure 😆

  9. We take the ubiquitous dryer for granted! I can see how the woman of the past toiled and how sons thought of ideas to help their moms. Good one.

  10. I’d give up and toss them over a bush! Great take.

Leave a Reply

