Skip to content

Watching eyes (Friday Fictioneers)

May 5, 2016

grey-day-with-pigeons-roger-bultot

The craftsmanship was amazing. Every ripple of each metallic feather looked real. Even the eyes. Black as night they gave you an eerie feeling when you looked into them, just the way real ones did.

Lined up the way they were on the wire, far above everybody’s head, you would never know they were not what they appeared to be.

That was the magnificence of them.

No one knew.

I did.

And they knew I did.

They’d begun following me the night I found the file

“Miss Stevens, you have agreed to our terms?”

I had no other choice. “Yes.”

 

 

I am posting on a different day now as I wont have the same availability to my computer.

This is a Friday Fictioneers Prompt. If you want to learn about the amazing writers that take part please go to the link and have a read.

word count: 100

From → Prompt

29 Comments
  1. A wonderful dark sci-fi take on the prompt

  2. Ooh, I like this, Laurie. This could go so many different ways. Will the bird be friend or foe, helper or destroyer? Great story!

  3. Dear Laurie,

    This does leave one with a lot of questions. Eerie little creatures, those. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  4. Very imaginative. Nicely done.

  5. Maybe it’s already happenning 🙂 Good story.

  6. I had an encounter with an angry Mockingbird today. He definitely looked me in the eye before his dive. I had to admire his spunk. Nice story

  7. oooh – creepy. Definitely want more.
    oh btw there is a typo at end of first parapraph: when you looking…

  8. Mike permalink

    Send for the exterminator before its to late. But keep writing, this was going great. Mike

  9. Oh great, bird drones. They see everything. I love it.

  10. I wonder what’s going on. What did she agreed to?

    Lily

  11. This is great. It has many possibilities for development – I love stories that do that.

  12. Dark and disturbing but it makes me want to read more.

Leave a Reply

