Skip to content

It was time (Friday Fictioneers)

August 11, 2016

adamickes-boardwalk

 

Hot air pounded down against my shoulders. My nose was burning. The bridge over the river had no roof and I could see everywhere, right to the horizon. If I looked back over my shoulder I’d be able to see the mountain top in the distance.

But there was nothing I wanted to see.

My heart cried out for snow, or grey skies. Battering wind that brought tears to my eyes or air so crisp it would burn my throat. I wanted something more.

Prying my fingers loose I stared at granddaddy’s watch. It was time to start packing.

 

 

This is a Friday Fictioneers Prompt

word count: 99

© solothefirst. All Rights to the works and publications on this blog are owned and copyrighted by Solothefirst. The Owner of this site reserves all permissions for access and use of all documents on this site.

From → Prompt

19 Comments
  1. Hmmm waiting to hear more

  2. Sometimes you just yearn for a change, any change. Nicely done.

    • Thank you Sandra. Yes I think that is exactly it. You always want what you don’t have. An experience you haven’t had before, to see what you’ve never seen before… we all want something… more

  3. This has the feel of Miroslav Holub’s poem “The Door” http://www.poetrybyheart.org.uk/poems/the-door/

    • Wow thank you Neil… i will take that 😂 and thank you for attaching it. Thank you for reading.

  4. Love the last lines

  5. Good snapshot of grief. The longing for something or anything is palpable.
    Tracey

  6. iainthekid permalink

    Excellent, so many possibilities lying ahead of her.

  7. Dear Laurie,

    This piece is thick with atmosphere. I hope the change is good for her. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  8. michael1148humphris permalink

    I had the grey skies and battering winds yesterday at St Ann’s. It was bracing, but all the same great, like your story. Mike

  9. michael1148humphris permalink

    Me too.

  10. It’s always better where we are not, isn’t it? Great atmosphere of wanting and yearning for change. And I love that poem Neil posted above. 😀

    • I know! me too… it was wonderful of Neil to post the link. I loved it. And you are very right…

Leave a Reply

