Skip to content

Nemesis (Friday Fictioneers)

September 8, 2016

crook2

This… This is all I have to work with?

Giant blue eyes stare up at me. “Pleaasssssssssssssssssse.”

Oh god, like I could say no to that. “You realize I haven’t used one of these in years, right?”

Big blue eyes.

Unblinking.

Staring.

“Go play with your brother,” I sigh. Little feet scamper away with cheers that fade into the back end of the house.

I stare at Nana’s old machine. My Nemesis.

“It’s just you and me, pal.”

I sit, rest my foot on the pedal and place the cotton down gently.

I’m sure Nana is laughing at me.

 

This is a Friday Fictioneers prompt

Oh my gosh, my Nana still has hers!! and she still uses it. I love this old machine.

Word count:  99

From → Prompt

28 Comments
  1. Heh. Poor mum, but she’ll manage. These machines are sturdy. I have the one from my grandma.

  2. Cute 🙂

  3. Sweet! I’m sure she’ll be inspired.

  4. michael1148humphris permalink

    If only she and I had learned the art of the sewing machine better. 🙂 🙂🙂

  5. Dear Laurie,

    I was never what one would call a good seamstress, although I gave it good try. I could relate to her.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  6. Nice tale, one of many lost skills in the modern world.

  7. Those begging eyes! What else can one do?

  8. I think the biggest challenge for me was to tread the needle… after I learned that I conquered my nemesis…

  9. Let’s hope it’s like riding a bicycle. I’m sure she’ll make it “sing.” 🙂

  10. Well told. It captures that moment we’ve all had where we dread something but know we have to do it.

  11. It must be easier to work out how to use and old machine today than to be expert on an older model and try to make sense of a modern contraption. I’m sure Mum will manage 🙂

  12. The lessons passed down but still doubts.
    Very nice story …
    Isadora 😎

  13. I know that feeling – me against the machine.

Leave a Reply

