Skip to content

Missed Destiny (Friday Fictioneers)

October 20, 2016

claire-fuller-8

The more I stared the more my mouth dropped open.

That was…

I spun on a heel and dashed out of the store. Money. I needed money now.

I found a hole in the wall, withdrew everything and ran back, bumping into the man in the doorway. He glared at my mumbled apology and hurried away.

I ran to the counter, “The pendant?”

“Sorry, Love. You just missed it. Funny. Sits on a shelf for years and in—“

I stopped listening. I had to go after him. I took another look at the shelf. “How much for the bat?”

 

 

This is a Friday Fictioneers prompt

word count:100

© solothefirst. All Rights to the works and publications on this blog are owned and copyrighted by Solothefirst. The Owner of this site reserves all permissions for access and use of all documents on this site.

From → Prompt

33 Comments
  1. I didn’t understand why she was carrying a bat, and why she threatened the shopkeeper with it rather than chasing the customer down the street

    • Oh maybe its not clear enough. She picked up the bat in the shop and is going after the guy who bought the pendant. I’ll have to have a look at it again. Thanks for your comments

    • Hi Neil, I made a few changes. Hope its a bit clearer now. 🙂

  2. I havent read the earlier version but this is perfectly clear 🙂

  3. Loved the turn around, the twist of the bat, what some people do for a pendant… Well done Laurie. 😇

  4. I wonder if this is a flying bat or a cricket bat type thing. I quite like the idea of it being the former…

  5. Nice take, the last line made me chuckle. Definitely wants that pendant 🙂

  6. Keen customer. 🙂

  7. Super story. “How much,” indeed

  8. My mind went in so many directions. I love this!

  9. Dear Laurie,

    She is determined. I did get the bat, although you might have edged the word baseball or cricket in there to clarify. At any rate the context, I think, defines the type of bat. Nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  10. This made me smile. It made perfect sense, but I have only read the edited version!

  11. That one I got immediately.. she must be desperate for that lock.

  12. I only read it now, after the edit, it is very clear. Great tension writing, that pendant must be very valuable.

  13. Ha Ha now I get it. Believe it or not until you explained it i wasn’t so sure

  14. I was thinking the flying bat too for some reason, but I see the other bat now. I hope she can track down that pendant.

Leave a Reply

