Skip to content

The last stop (Friday Fictioneers)

November 3, 2016

jean-l-hays

As interplanetary trading posts went this one was not awful. I mean it wasn’t the best I’ve been in, but I’ve seen worse, much worse. This one didn’t have a dead body in the bathroom, so yeah not the worst.

The bell bonged as I stepped inside.

“Hello?” I called into silence. Okay. I could smell hotdogs. More to the point the scent of mustard. A cool breeze tickled the hairs at the back of my neck. “Ah, hello? I called again, this time softer. I backed up. You know, I didn’t need cash this badly. I turned and ran.

 

 

The is a Friday Fictioneers Prompt

word count:100

Read more!

 

© solothefirst. All Rights to the works and publications on this blog are owned and copyrighted by Solothefirst. The Owner of this site reserves all permissions for access and use of all documents on this site.

From → Prompt

17 Comments
  1. What a fun pastiche! Congratulations

  2. Funny how silence and an empty space can sometimes be terrifying – nice take.

  3. Doesn’t sound like the kind of place you’d want to linger. Well done.

  4. Back away slowly….

  5. Dear Laurie,

    This had a Star Wars feel to it. Very enjoyable.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  6. Very wise. A place to avoid methinks!

    My silly story!

  7. Ha.. I will remember this… one star: is attributed to trading posts that have dead guests left in the bathrooms. two stars: trading posts that include the scent of mustard.

  8. michael1148humphris permalink

    I liked the openness of your writing, just enough words to make the reader wonder.

    • Thank you Michael…. i figure what the reader comes up could be better than i could write!! Ha ha 😀

  9. Delightful first line. It says so much.

Leave a Reply

