Skip to content

The hell left behind (Friday Fictioneers)

December 23, 2016

diner-roger-bultot

I glanced back at the camouflage. I couldn’t see it, so it was working as it was supposed to. I continued down the dusty road. It had been so long since I’d been here it was like another world to me now. The diner came into view. I hesitated before entering. Would they remember? The bell tinkled as I opened the door.

“Debbie? Debbie! Where have you been girl?”

I accepted the hug with relief. My mind darted back to my ship and the war I had left behind. They could never know what I had done to save them.

 

This  is a Friday Fictioneers prompt

Word count:100

 

© solothefirst. All Rights to the works and publications on this blog are owned and copyrighted by Solothefirst. The Owner of this site reserves all permissions for access and use of all documents on this site.

From → Prompt

20 Comments
  1. This has the feel of an excerpt from a larger story

  2. A great tease – what war and what has she done, and what has she left camouflaged. Intriguing stuff.

  3. Could be made into a bigger story

  4. I think that we never really appreciate the sacrifices of a returning soldier as much as we try.
    Merry Christmas Laurie.
    Tracey

  5. Super story, Laurie. Needless to say more would be good.

  6. Intriguing story, Laurie. Wonderful! I want to know what she did.

  7. Dear Laurie,

    There’s so much story there. Well layered and heart felt. good one.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  8. Yes… when you leave us with questions and wanting to know more, you know you’ve succeeded!

  9. Sometimes even heroes need to come back and feel like humans… I wonder if it was just a visit or forever.

Leave a Reply

