Skip to content

How sweet the sound (Friday Fictioneers)

March 2, 2017

clouds-above-the-trees

 

It’s been so long…

Since I’ve been up there. So very long.

My shoulders itch with the memory. Muscles twisting and pulling, weightlessness and stomach churning free falls. Even now, just thinking about it I can almost hear the wind buffeting my ears, feel the soft downy fluff beneath my…

Stop it. You can’t go back. Remembering only makes the ache worse.

I stand. Muscles and gravity and hard ground beneath my feet. A sigh tears out of me. I scrub at suddenly hot eyes and swing my arms fast and wide. It doesn’t sound the same.

Can’t go back.

 

This is a Friday Fictioneers prompt

word count: 100

© solothefirst. All Rights to the works and publications on this blog are owned and copyrighted by Solothefirst. The Owner of this site reserves all permissions for access and use of all documents on this site.

From → Prompt

34 Comments
  1. What a lovely fallen angel, Laurie

  2. Beautiful piece.

  3. I love this! A sweet longing for those angelic days of yore…

  4. Dear Laurie,

    If a bell sounds every time an angel gets her wings, what sound do we hear when she loses them? I enjoyed your story.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Oh yes what a good question, Rochelle! I am sure it is a horrific sound. Thank you for your lovely comment.

  5. I can feel for her. Nicely done.

  6. Made me think of the movie City of Angels, with Meg Ryan… Maybe she made the choice to come down to Earth and realised too late that she shouldn’t have…

  7. Such a longing… I hope she finds something on the ground that makes her just as happy as the act of flying.

  8. Any angel who has lost its wing will feel the gravity… such an original thought.

  9. I can imagine this is how astronauts feel after having lived for a time in space. Loved how you wrote this.

  10. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover permalink

    Simply beautiful.

  11. Beautiful story. I’m sure she gave her wings up for a reason.

  12. Great piece which could be seen as a metaphor for not being able to go back to anything in our past. We all have regrets, even if they are just that we can no longer fly like we used to.

    • Thank you Michael. Yes you are exactly right! 😉 the past cant be changed but if you understand it… Perhaps…

  13. This made me ache. It might have been from the point of view of a bird but as someone said, it works as a metaphor for looking back on a chapter of life that is impossible to get back again.

    • Thank you Romny. I love your insughtful comments. Thank you for reading. I try to look upon my past deeds and learn from them

  14. What a beautiful story, full of sadness and longing. Nicely done.

  15. What a divine/earthly struggle..sigh..

    • Yes… and sad too

      • It reminds me of the Gibran quote about how our weeping for those that have passed on is not only sorrow but looking deeper into your heart you will also find they are tears of joy. Almost a sense of envy that we remain with our earthly burdens. 🙂

      • Wow… yes exactly. I’m so glad you enjoyed my piece. I think more could come of it

Leave a Reply

