Skip to content

We will always play (Friday Fictioneers)

March 23, 2017

They say it’s haunted. What rubbish. It’s not haunted. I live there.

Sarah has been my friend for years. We play together in the long grass, chasey around the fence and hide and seek in the house’s long corridors.

Sarah asks me sometimes if I am lonely. Of course not, I have her, silly! Is my usual response.

Today, she was crying. When I asked her why, she said she was going away. I didn’t want her to go. She said we were best friends forever.

I play alone now. But I remember her and my laughter fills the halls.

 

This is a Friday Fictioneers prompt

Word count: 100

 

© solothefirst. All Rights to the works and publications on this blog are owned and copyrighted by Solothefirst. The Owner of this site reserves all permissions for access and use of all documents on this site.

From → Prompt

35 Comments
  1. I’m saying Sarah’s a ghost and you can’t tell me otherwise

  2. It’s a toss-up which one is the ghost, for me. I liked this.

  3. Dear Laurie,

    I’m with Sandra. I wasn’t sure which of the girls was the ghost. A sweet one, nonetheless. Enjoyable read.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  4. I disagree with Niel, the narrator is the ghost and Sarah is a normal kid who move on in life leaving the ghost behind. Close?…

    • Ohhhhh and we have a winner 😆. What made you think that Trent? I love the guesswork goong on

      • Reading through the comments it is cool how everyone has their own take. When I started reading it I thought Sarah, but the way you ended it to me only the narrator made sense – she has a lonely time until a new living playmate comes along and then the fun begins again.

      • Well said Trent! But yes i love that everyone has a different view!

  5. The narrator seems to be the ghost to me, and is destined to be lonely haunting the big house….

  6. Reblogged this on Julaina Kleist-Corwin and commented:
    Great Friday Prompt to start your day in writing mode.

  7. I vote for the speaker being the ghost. I hope a new playmate moves in soon.

  8. I love the comments on who is real and who is the ghost… and how about neither are ghosts or neither are little girls?
    It’s always a good sign when you’ve got your readers discussing possibilities, I say!
    I liked this!

    • Yes Dale I am loving everyones thpughts too!! Either way, she is a lovely if loney little girl… she’ll find a new friend. She always does

  9. michael1148humphris permalink

    There are no ghosts here 👻 😨 👻

  10. Interesting story and comments. I thought both of them were on the supernatural side. Obviously local people aren’t aware anyone lives there.

  11. I sense an imaginary friend rather than a ghost. I guess we’ll never know.

    Click to read my story

  12. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover permalink

    I thought Sarah was the ghost and was relieved when she let her friend leave.

  13. Some are not allowed to leave… a very sweet ghost story.

  14. Yes, good idea to leave that ambiguity of which is the ghost and therefore why one is leaving. If I had to choose I’d say the one left to laugh around the house is the ghost

    • Thank you Michael for your insightful commemts. You are exactly right as to what was in my head when writing this one 😊

  15. I love the voice of the narrator – always the child no matter how much time passes

  16. I enjoyed this a lot. Great voice.

Leave a Reply

