Skip to content

The one constant (Friday Fictioneers)

April 27, 2017

Standing back, I watch the Gatherers bow their heads. Tears streak the faces of some, others are stony: Unmoving, silent and empty. There are not as many as I’d hoped, but perhaps more than I deserve.

All are strangers. No one speaks or shares tales of my existence. Their loneliness is a pitiful beast, whimpering and crawling over the ground.

I should never have come. Curiosity – it’s a fool’s desire.

 

Rubbing my fingers over the time disc I wish to go back. The tingles begin. I can not undo knowledge but perhaps I can change my ways and undo destiny.

 

 

This is a Friday Fictioneers Prompt

Read more!

word count : 100

 

© solothefirst. All Rights to the works and publications on this blog are owned and copyrighted by Solothefirst. The Owner of this site reserves all permissions for access and use of all documents on this site.

From → Prompt

31 Comments
  1. You know, on the less is more principle. I’d be tempted to cut the last paragraph

  2. Dear Laurie,

    Would that we all had a time disc. I wouldn’t cut the last paragraph. I think it clues us into why this person is attending his or her own funeral. Nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Thank you Rochelle. Yes i have decided i will keep it. It felt like an inportant line! And thank you. I know i would love a time disc. Not to see what will be though maybe to undo some stuff. Lol. Then again…

  3. I have to agree with Rochelle. It truly lets us know what is going on. Without it, I would suspect another ghost (and there are enough of those this week!)

  4. Oh, great time travel story. There are so many possibilities for him to change history.

  5. michael1148humphris permalink

    I read it as being a ghost until the last line, but that is great. This is a story that can offer two differing scenario’s. Well done

  6. Nicely done. I think Neil’s right.

  7. I liked the whole thing.

    • Thank you John…. its such a great photo! Time travel is sooo interesting to me. I mean… why would you do it and where would you go?

      • I think it would be so interesting to go back to some of the important times of history and see if the event was as described. The Gettysburg Address, Washington crossing the Delaware, The building of the Pyramids, Joan of Arc, building of the Great Wall, and so many others.

      • Ooooooo fabulous John.

  8. I like this.. reminds me of a quote from Havamal:

    Cattle die and kinsmen die,
    thyself too soon must die,
    but one thing never, I ween, will die, —
    fair fame of one who has earned.

  9. Perhaps……
    Interesting event to travel forward to

  10. Time travel at its best. Maybe if we could all catch a glimpse of the legacy we would be leaving behind, we’d all do things just a little differently, eh.

  11. The funeral – the ultimate judgement on how you lived your life. I don’t think I would have the courage.

  12. Reblogged this on Julaina Kleist-Corwin and commented:
    Friday’s prompt is a good way to start a writing marathon this weekend. Go for it. Thanks #Laurie Bell.

  13. I love this take on the prompt! Brilliant.

  14. A wee bit like Scrooge seeing his own death and lack of sympathy. Nicely done.

  15. How sad to see yourself unmourned, and how lucky to be able to redress the balance.

Leave a Reply

