Skip to content

Author Interview: Tegon Maus

June 5, 2017

This is the ninth author interview in my series!

Enjoy

Introducing Tegon Maus

 

Walking around this field all I can feel is heat. Hot air on my face, dry grass snaps beneath my feel. Sweat coats my skin, but when I scratch at it all I feel is salt. Gee I could do with a drink!

My gaze darts up when I hear the buzz. Even under the bright sunshine I can see… lights? Huh, what’s that? When I look down again my guest is standing right in front of me!

Hi Tegon! great to finally meet you.

First up, tell me a bit about yourself.

How I spend my day? I’m an REO contractor…  I work for an investment firm. They buy a house that has been terribly abused; I count the number of broken windows and multiply by the number of bullet holes and then tell them what it will cost to make repairs. I spend a lot of time on the road… I average 100 / 120 miles a day and I like to write in my head as the day goes along. It’s a talking to myself kind of thing. When I go home I try to put it down and refine it as best I can. I usually have 3 different stories in my head at the same time so when I run across something that pricks my interest I apply it to the best fitting story and I don’t get bored. It’s with me all the time, sometimes in the back of my head, sometimes a little closer to the front but always there. What do I like to do in my free time? I seldom have free time but when I do I like to garden… I’m very fond of growing Pumpkins, Watermelons, Zinnia, anything with a flower attached!!

Wow, What a gardener you are (everything I touch, dies… ooooh now there’s a great story idea 🙂 ). Now, tell me about your writing…

Now you got me! What would you like to know? I write in a variety of genre… I write Sci-Fi, Contemporary Fiction, Romantic Comedy, Action Adventure and all with as much humor as I can get away with. I love a good tongue and cheek story!

Wow, So multi-skilled! (I love a good humorous piece too!) What age were you when you started?

The first thing I can remember writing was for my wife. We had been dating for a while and I had done something really stupid and in an effort to gain her forgiveness I wrote her a little story… something about misunderstood closet monsters and dust bunnies.  That was more than 47 years ago… I no longer remember but as it turns out she married me a short time after so it must have been pretty good!   

How did you know you wanted to be a writer?

When Dearheart and I were first married I worked 3 jobs… 2 of which were at night. She would come along and read to me as I worked. In our first 5 years together she read hundreds of books to me… everything imaginable.  Now as time has gone on she has begun to lose her eyesight. Now I write to entertain her. If I can make her laugh then I know I’ve done a good job. I would have to say that I owe my writing career to her.  It wasn’t a deliberate conscious thought it was more of a stepping stone. It was the eighties, my wife and I had joined a dream interpretation  group and we were encouraged to write down our dreams as they occurred. “Be as detailed as you can,” we were told. I was thrilled. If there is one thing I enjoy it’s making people believe me and I like to exaggerate. Not a big exaggeration or an outright lie mine you, just a little step out of sync, just enough so you couldn’t be sure if it were true or not. When I write, I always write with the effort of “it could happen” very much in mind and nothing, I guarantee you, nothing, makes me happier!  

Awww, she sounds lovely! how wonderful to have such a fan so close to home! What was your favorite book as a child?

As a child?  Nothing comes to mind but in my teens then it was Asimov’s  I Robot. I read it a hundred times. It set me on track for college… I majored in Bio-Physics and was instilled with the desire to build artificial limbs for amputees.  I went to school days and worked at nights. Things didn’t turn out that way, what with a wife and kid on the way I switched to working days and school at night.

Oooooo me too! Oh and did you hear about the new Aussie Artificial limb work? I just watched a story on it! Apparently they have worked out how to “think” to “move” the limb. Amazing! What a time we live in.  So favorite book as an adult?

One of the series my wife read to me was written by E.E.Doc Smith… the Lens Men Series. Written in 1939 it was the most fantastic thing I had ever heard!  Big, sweeping, epic stories with big John Wayne type characters… what’s not to love ??!!

Tell me a bit about your novels?

Ah, this is a longer conversation… I have 6 published and another 3 I’m still working on so let me tell you about my favourite…  BOB. It’s a soft Sci-Fi book about the lights in the night sky over Arizona and a reporter’s search for what is truly going on. Toward that effort he hires a driver… BOB and with that tiny decision all hell breaks loose as the reporter and BOB run into one absurd situation after another in a wild, fast paced, funny  adventure!    

6? wow! that’s brilliant. BOB sounds fantastic. The cover is above and here

Sounds terrific

How do you come up with your ideas?

It depends on the book… different things key different images in my head.  In my book MY GRANDFATHER’S PANTS there is a scene where my character asked his girlfriend to marry him… it is exactly what happened the day I asked Dearheart to marry me… word for word, scene for scene. In my book SERVICE BEFORE SELF there is a scene with a hoarder making a cat food sandwich… all true !  Inspiration comes every day from everywhere!  

OMG that is Hilarious!

Have you always wanted to write science fiction?

I love Sci-Fi… all the wonderful things that are waiting just around the corner for us, incredible things, wild and crazy things! There is no other book, story or written word that promises more than Sci-Fi !!  Nothing !!  I want it all !! Everything that it promises !!

How long did it take you to write your first novel?

My first book… THE CHRONICALS OF TUCKER LITTLEFIELD took me a little over a year to write. It took another 5 years to find a publisher willing to read it!

What about all the others?

Each one took about a year… some a little longer some not so much.

Are you working on anything new?

I’m putting the finishing touches on the 2nd book in the LITTLEFIELD series… BLACK MOON.

Tell me a little bit about it?

In the first book in the LITTLEFIELD series we find Tucker Littlefield to be a lair, a thief and a conman who is put into one harrowing situation after another. When pushed into a corner he ultimately does the right thing in spite of himself. In the BLACK MOON Tucker is dragged along with the Kindred to witness the changing of the Shalic… King for the Kindred.

Every 28 years the whole of the Kindred gathers to witness the moon blacking out the sun and they are cast into darkness. When the sun returns it is the signal for the rise of the next Shalic to rule over the Kindred… each tribe in their turn.  Unfortunately for Tucker Littlefield as soon as the sun goes dark the old Shalic is murdered. With the sun’s return the ensuing madness over takes them all and in hopes of protecting  himself Tucker grabs the dead Shalic’s spear and unwittingly becomes the next Shalic…. Things go to hell shortly after that!

The cover for Book One is below!

Thank you soooo much for your time Tegon! It’s been terrific chatting with you. In a blink he is gone. Wha… Where?

The sun is also gone and a bitter wind sneaks under my clothing! Gosh… when did the weather change? Above my head clouds have turned dark and clash with a rumble. Ahhhh, I’d better find some shelter. Looks like a hell of a storm is coming.

About the Author

I was raised pretty much the same as everyone else… devoted mother, strict father and all the imaginary friends I could conjure. Not that I wasn’t friendly, I just wasn’t “people orientated”. Maybe I lived in my head way more than I should have, maybe not. I liked machines more than people, at least I did until I met my wife.
The first thing I can remember writing was for her. For the life of me I can’t remember what it was about… something about dust bunnies under the bed and monsters in my closet. It must have been pretty good because she married me shortly after that. I spent a good number of years after following a variety of ideas before I got back to writing.
It wasn’t a deliberate conscious thought, it was more of a stepping stone. My wife and I had joined a dream interpret group and we were encouraged to write down our dreams as they occurred. “Be as detailed as you can,” we were told.
I was thrilled. If there is one thing I enjoy it’s making people believe me and I like to exaggerate. Not a big exaggeration or an out right lie mine you, just a little step out of sync, just enough so you couldn’t be sure if it were true or not. If I can make people think “it could happen,” even for a moment, then I have them and nothing makes me happier. When I write, I always write with the effort of “it could happen” very much in mind and nothing, I guarantee you, nothing, makes me happier.

About the BOB

After 27 years as a newspaper man, Peter Anderson’s career is slipping away, at least it was, until he stumbled upon the story of a lifetime. Sent to do a fluff piece about lights in the night sky over Arizona, he discovers far more than he ever expected when he comes across a mysterious young woman held prisoner in a basement. After helping her to escape, she disappears before he can learn the truth about who she is or where she came from. His search for her leads him back to the lights in the sky and leaves him with more questions than answers. The only thing he knows for certain…the only thing he can count on are the two words offered repeatedly by his friend and guide: “is belt.”

If you want to find Tegon – a very supportive Sci Fi writer!

http://www.tirgearrpublishing.com/authors/Maus_Tegon/index.htm

https://www.amazon.com/Tegon-Maus/e/B009PFZILW

https://www.facebook.com/Tegon-Maus-150255051766767/

On twitter : @TegonMaus

His blog is here

https://tegonmaus6.wixsite.com/first-saturday-scifi

9 Comments
  1. Great interview and Tegon’s books sound terrific. Thanks, Laurie.

  2. Thanks for the nod Laurie… much appreciated !!

  3. I love when writers use real life experiences. I feel like it truly captures the essences of the emotions presented at that moment.

Leave a Reply

