Skip to content

Keep looking (Friday Fictioneers)

June 15, 2017

“Whatcha doin?”

“Watching the sky.” I scrub beneath my nose and sniff harder.

“Why?”

“They’s coming John.”

“Jeez, you serious?”

I cough up a lung and rub my chest. These damned flu tablets weren’t doing shit. “I tell you. They’re coming. Lookit the sky.”

John looked up. I followed his gaze. The clouds were swirling, grey and turning darker. “See.”

“I don’t see nothing, Billy. Sleep it off inside. Damned cold out here.”

I huddle further into my parka, cuddling my bat. “Ima fine.” I needed to watch. I needed to see. When they came, I wouldn’t be caught offguard.

 

 

This is a Friday Fictioneers prompt post

word count: 100

© solothefirst. All Rights to the works and publications on this blog are owned and copyrighted by Solothefirst. The Owner of this site reserves all permissions for access and use of all documents on this site.

From → Prompt

27 Comments
  1. Those are some pain meds he’s on. Great story!

  2. I liked it that you didn’t overdo it, and tell us whether they were really coming or he was imagining it

  3. Nice job, Laurie

  4. Nice take on the prompt. I remember having this feeling as a kid,when I was ill .

  5. Dear Laurie,

    Flu tabs or fever…sounds like a little of both. Or maybe they really are coming. 😉 Nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  6. Great story. So many different possibilities.

  7. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover permalink

    Great dialogue. I like that you left it unclear if something was really coming. I enjoy the opportunity to let me imagination run wild.

  8. Great descriptions of cold and determination. 🙂

  9. michael1148humphris permalink

    I to enjoyed the dialogue and the varying possibilities

  10. You never really know do you… a bat in the hand is better than bats in the belfry, but both at the same time is a bit disturbing

  11. I, too, loved the dialogue and the fact that we just don’t know for sure what’s going on. Great job, Laurie!

Leave a Reply

