Skip to content

End of the line (Friday Fictioneers)

June 22, 2017

Sean drummed his fingers against the wheel. Behind him a wail grew suddenly sharper. “Oh Jesus Christ,” he grumbled under his breath. She still heard him.

She always heard him.

“Sean, really?”

“You can’t do anything about him?”

“Can’t you?” she snapped. It was her regular reply.

This time his sigh was very audible,

The brake lights in front of his face dropped and then flared brighter. He inched the heavy vehicle forward. The car rocked. The baby’s wail became a scream. His wife closed her eyes and leaned against the window.

Sean would need a holiday from his holiday.

 

 

This is a Friday Fictioneers Prompt

word count: 100

 

© solothefirst. All Rights to the works and publications on this blog are owned and copyrighted by Solothefirst. The Owner of this site reserves all permissions for access and use of all documents on this site.

From → Prompt

29 Comments
  1. Good story, Laurie. Have to feel for the wife.

  2. Dear Laurie,

    I think I’ve been on a few of these ‘holidays.’ Nuff said. Well done…although I want to head slap Sean. 😉

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  3. Babies and vacations? Not a good mix. But Sean needed that head-slap 🙂

  4. Funnily enough, I have just returned from a week’s holiday with my twin toddlers. I’m looking forward to returning to work for a rest 🙂

  5. Holidays are so much more like holidays now the nippers have fled the nest! Nice one.

    My story – ‘An empty bottle’

  6. Crying babies can fray the nerves but he needs to get a grip

  7. Traveling with younguns requires LOADS of patience, which apparently Sean lacks. He deserves a slap upside the head. “You can’t do anything about him?” Really, Sean? You are the worst… 😀
    That said, I used to take my little ones camping and we were pretty friggen lucky. My nephew on the other hand? Not so easy…

    • Oh dear… yes i agree, maybe if he got his butt right and maybe gave the baby a cuddle who knows 😕
      Mind you… according to my mom i was that baby…

  8. Hopefully everyone will have a good and exhausting holiday for a quieter drive home.

  9. A well told but sad scene here. I think they need a holiday from each other!
    Unless I’m misunderstanding something, both of them need an attitude adjustment. Most moms would try doing something to soothe Junior. I don’t get why she tosses it back at him as if he’s not driving.

    • Yes Christine, you read that exactly right. There is nothing good going on in this relationship. I think this is a holiday that might end them not save them.

  10. It takes two to make a baby – Sean should remember that and help rather than criticise.

  11. Boy, do I know that feeling.

  12. I think there is a reason why counselors make money… time to for an appointment.

  13. So many holidays are like that. You can’t wait to get home and rest!

Leave a Reply

