Skip to content

The Past Beckons (Friday Fictioneers)

June 29, 2017

 

I’m actually here. I’m still pinching myself. I know the science, I’ve studied it for years.

It shouldn’t have worked.

And yet…

 

Even though I speak modern-day Italian what I hear around me is anything but. I thought I was getting the hang of it.

Another cold draught of water thrown in my face suggests I’m wrong.

And my shirt… itches.

The smell is off. Camphor? Starch? I’m gonna scratch my skin raw.

 

I have three more days.

I’m not sure I’m gonna last that long.

 

A come hither smile beckons from the tavern doorway.

Then again… I probably will.

 

 

This is a Friday Fictioneers prompt

Word Count: 100

 

© solothefirst. All Rights to the works and publications on this blog are owned and copyrighted by Solothefirst. The Owner of this site reserves all permissions for access and use of all documents on this site.

From → Prompt

34 Comments
  1. All research in the name of science of course! Fun take 🙂

    • Hahaha ha indeed Iain! Who know what he might leave behind 😉

    • Well done. Going back in time might seem like an adventure but, as you hinted, there are many issues we’d find pretty hard to deal with. I think of a world without even a Tylenol for pain and I’m quite happy here, thanks.

      • Oh gosh… I cant imagine. Yes I’m very glad to stay here… or maybe jump to the future!

  2. Exceptionally mysterious. Nice job, Laurie.

  3. Three days in a tavern sounds good to me, unless……
    Please click to read my FriFic

  4. Dear Laurie,

    A little time travel and culture shock. Loved the uplifting ending. I enjoyed this imaginative piece.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  5. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover permalink

    This was great fun, I was ready to say “careful what you ask for” until that nice ending.

  6. This was great! I want More!

  7. Fascinating!

  8. Who wouldn’t respond to a ‘come hither’ glance. Well written! Nan

  9. A flirtatious glance dispels all the discomfort of science. Of course it does 🙂

  10. That was great! Well done! :o)

  11. Amazing what a come-hither smile will do!

  12. Let’s hope he doesn’t father his own ancestor!

  13. I agree with Rochelle. A lot of imagination in this…

  14. I liked this, whatever your problems or situation a tavern will always solve it. 🙂

    • Well hopefully not all problems 😆 then again a nice smile and a time travel machine might 🖒

  15. What a fun story! Loved it!

Leave a Reply

