Skip to content

Review: Beneath the Skin by R.L. Martinez (Book 2 of the Witchbreed Series)

July 22, 2017

Beneath the Skin by R.L. Martinez (Book 2 of the Witchbreed Series)

About the Book

Abandoned, betrayed, and wanted for murder.

Lady Oriabel Dominax is a witch on the run. The deadly magic now awakened inside her is hungry, and it is all Oriabel can do to control it. With no choice but to trust strangers as her guardians, she quickly discovers not everyone is who they say they are and the very magic she fears might be her only weapon to protect those she loves.

Since rescuing her sister from certain death, Lady Ottilde Dominax’s only goal is to keep Oriabel safe and alive. Not an easy task when both the enemy and their so-called allies are hunting them. Placing all her trust in the very man who held her prisoner, Ottilde must open her heart and mind to a future she could never have predicted, a future guided only by love and survival.

Life, death, and tragedy lie ahead as the Dominax twins set out on a perilous journey to safety. But knowing they are mere pawns in someone else’s game means fighting for family is all they have left.

For fans of Sarah J. Maas and Juliet Marillier, The WITCHBREED series is a “magical and spellbinding” epic tale of witches, warriors, and “a sisterly bond like none other.”

 

My thoughts:

A seamless blend of epic fantasy and storytelling, book two Beneath the Skin picks up after the life changing events of In the Blood. Oriabel and Ottilde are together at last but quickly discover forces are trying to separate them again. This time both girls are being hunted for who and what they are. Within Oriabel lies the child all the hunters want. A missing link to an even greater power.

R.L. Martinez has again captured the beauty of this raw, untamed world with a sense of reality that is hard to shake after putting the book down. The magic and shapeshifting fantasy elements are written in a believable way and the world building is breathtaking.

The sisters’ romantic entanglements are deeply complex, interweaving love and duty until clear lines become lost and motivation is murky. The sisters once again have difficult choices to make. Give up their love or fight for what they need to survive.

Never come between a mother and her child. Oriabel will do anything and everything she must to keep her child safe. R. L. Martinez has once again taken us on a spellbinding journey, one that I was heartbroken to finish. Bring on Book Three.

 

Read here for my review of Boook One: In the Blood

Advertisements

From → Reviews

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: