Skip to content

I’ll always return (Friday Fictioneers)

August 11, 2017

The crackle of leaves beneath my feet reminds me of where I am. The smell of wet dirt and dogs, of rotting mulch lift my spirits like nothing else. It’s cool here beneath the canopy of green, dark in places where the wanning sun cannot reach.

It’s around here somewhere. You would think time would diminish the memories but they’re as clear as if the crash had happened yesterday.

That broken tree points the way. And there she is. My spaceship. I press my wrinkled hand against the side and blink back tears. Time may pass, but I’ll always remember.

 

 

This is a Friday Fictioneers prompt

Word count:

 

© solothefirst. All Rights to the works and publications on this blog are owned and copyrighted by Solothefirst. The Owner of this site reserves all permissions for access and use of all documents on this site.

From → Prompt

30 Comments
  1. you summoned the atmosphere and the smells really well

  2. Wow. I could smell it all. Hand on spaceship and tears. Great.

  3. Awww…poor guy. But that’s life in this old world. We all remember something in the past that was beautiful and is no more.☹
    Good job setting the scene and showing his feelings.

  4. So beautiful !

  5. Some lovely descriptive writing. You might almost have been describing Longtimber Wood, where I walk most days.

    • Oh wow really? What a gorgeous name for a local wood!

      • Yes, and it’s also a very appropriate name. Many of the trees are tall. I’m very lucky to enjoy such a beautiful place so close to my home. I shall take care to look out for spaceships!

      • Sounds gorgeous and peaceful! But yes… keep an eye out for patches of silver in the growth

  6. I wasn’t sure where this was going from the beautifully written beginning… a car crash… a stolen stash… a buried body… a spaceship! Well written.

  7. I’m guessing Earth’s technology is unable to fix the ship. Lovely writing.

  8. Great descriptions.

  9. I was going to say what Neil said. So often I forget to work smells into my 100-word stories. You did it very well. Kudos.

  10. Dear Laurie,

    Apparently E.T. wasn’t able to phone home. Good job of setting the stage. The atmosphere was dense and tangible. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  11. I was right there, feeling and smelling all that you described. Wee done.

  12. Wonderfully descriptive. The scene played out in my mind as I read your words.

    Click to read my FriFic

  13. The smells you talk about are really very descriptive – and good!

  14. Beautifully written, you engage our senses, smells always trigger memories, don’t they? And then to be stranded on Earth knowing what is ‘out there’… I wonder why no one misses him/her.

    • Oh yes.. it was the wet dirt smell! Or the smell of rain on the air. Thank you! Oooo great comment I wonder if she is missed?

Leave a Reply

