Skip to content

Review: Of Dragons, Feasts and Murders: A Dominion of the Fallen Story by Aliette De Bodard

July 13, 2020

About the book:

Lunar New Year should be a time for familial reunions, ancestor worship, and consumption of an unhealthy amount of candied fruit.

But when dragon prince Thuan brings home his brooding and ruthless husband Asmodeus for the New Year, they find not interminable family gatherings, but a corpse outside their quarters. Asmodeus is thrilled by the murder investigation; Thuan, who gets dragged into the political plotting he’d sworn off when he left, is less enthusiastic.

It’ll take all of Asmodeus’s skill with knives, and all of Thuan’s diplomacy, to navigate this one—as well as the troubled waters of their own relationship….

A sparkling standalone book set in a world of dark intrigue.

A Note on Chronology
Spinning off from the Dominion of the Fallen series, which features political intrigue in Gothic devastated Paris, this book stands alone, but chronologically follows The House of Sundering Flames. It’s High Gothic meets C-drama in a Vietnamese inspired world—perfect for fans of The Untamed, KJ Charles, and Roshani Chokshi’s The Gilded Wolves.

My thoughts:

Well… I love this so much. I haven’t read the Dominion of the Fallen series but I’ve gone straight out to get it. This novella is fabulous and you don’t have to have read the series to understand what is going on. And gosh, so much is going on. The language and scene setting is so beautifully described, that when I think back on the worldbuilding I just see magnificent colors! I don’t know how the author Aliette De Bodard does it but is it simply stunning. And this – a murder mystery full of political intrigue, spies, and machinations of royalty and status with fantasy elements and dragons is right up my alley and I love it. In fact, I got to the end and was annoyed it was a novella because I wanted to keep reading! I recommend it highly. (Now I’m off to read the series!)

From → Reviews

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: